Fukuhara Award for International Research and Service

Award nominations closed for 2023/ next DEADLINE June 30, 2024

The Fukuhara Award is given to a senior or mid-career level psychologist with distinguished contributions to international psychology in research and service.

Award Description

  • An honorarium of $300 USD, an award certificate, and an award plaque
  • An invitation to present an ICP webinar, and encouragement to participate in the ICP Annual Conference, with waived conference registration fee

Nomination materials and procedure

  • Nominations must be made online.,
  • Materials required for the nominations submission:
    • Name, address, phone, fax, and email of nominator and nominee
    • Cover letter indicating how the nominee fits the award criteria (pdf or word)
    • Nominee’s curriculum vitae (pdf or word)

Submit Nomination Here

For inquiries, please contact the Fukuhara award chair, Dr. Naoki Asazuma

Past Recipients

  • 2022: Dr. Judith Gibbons, Emerita St. Louis University, USA/Guatemala
  • 2021:  Dr. Radosveta Dimitrova, Stockholm University, Sweden/Italy
  • 2020: Dr. Susan Nolan, Seton Hall University, USA
  • 2019: Dr. Klaus Boehnke, Jacobs University Bremen, Germany
  • 2018: Dr. Brian Mishara, Université du Québec à Montréal, CANADA
  • 2017: Dr. Uwe P. Gielen, St. Francis College, New York City, USA
  • 2016: Dr. Janel Gauthier, Laval University, Quebec, CANADA
  • 2015: Dr. Merry Bullock, American Psychological Association,  USA
  • 2014: Dr. Michael Knowles, University of Monash AUSTRALIA
  • 2013: Dr. Jose Piero, Valencia University, SPAIN
  • 2012: Dr. Charles Spielberger, University of South Florida, USA