ICP Regional Conference in Japan

Human Right Summits, Social Justice, and Wellness from a Cross Cultural/ Interdisciplinary Perspective

Co-Chairs: Dr. Machiko Fukuhara and Dr. Naoki Asazuma
Purpose: Gather to support the development of ICP in Japan, to learn from ICP interest groups

Conference Program

Josephine Tan
Josephine Tan
Machiko Fukuhara
Machiko Fukuhara
Naoki Asazuma
Naoki Asazuma
Sandra Neil
Sandra Neil

Presidential Greeting, Welcome Greetings

Dr. Josephine Tan, Dr. Machiko Fukuhara, Dr. Sandra Neil, Dr. Naoki Asazuma

Merry Bullock
Merry Bullock
Andrew Simon
Andrew Simon

What is the International Council of Psychologists?

Merry Bullock, ICP Secretary-General & Andrew Simon, ICP President-Elect

Sandra Neil
Sandra Neil
Robert Silverberg
Robert Silverberg

Endangered People and Children Human Rights

Dr. Sandra Neil and Dr. Robert Silverberg
Satir Institute, Australia

Sandra Neil
Sandra Neil
Robert Silverberg
Robert Silverberg

The Multicultural Family Chessboard Exercise

Dr. Sandra Neil and Dr. Robert Silverberg
Satir Institute, Australia

Roswith Roth
Roswith Roth

The Right to Health. Reports in Emotional Support Helplines in the times of Corona in Austria

Dr. Roswith Roth
University of Graz, Austria

Hirobumi Kawakita

Human Dignity in Medical Care

Dr Hirobumi Kawakita, M.D.,MBA, PhD
Japan Council for Quality Health Care; Kawakita Medical Foundation, Japan

Masao Yokota

Clinical psychology and science of animation

Dr. Masao Yokota
Nihon University, Japan

Josephine Tan

Indigenous and Immigrant Communities

Dr. Josephine Tan, ICP President
Lakehead University, Canada

July 9 1:30 am EDT / July 9 7:30 am CEST / July 9 2:30 pm JST
Lecture

Kyoko Noguchi

Health psychology from multicultural view

Dr. Kyoko Noguchi, PhD
Professor, Emeritus (Psychology), Bunkagakuen University, Tokyo
Past President, the Asian Association of Health Psychology

Amina Muazzam

Impact of COVID-19 on Women in Pakistan

Dr. Amina Muazzam
Lahore College for Women University, Pakistan

Keiko Tomita

Internationalization of Higher Education in Japan – The Agenda of a Long Quest

Dr Keiko Tomita, PhD
President , Tokiwa University, Japan

July 9 3:00 am EDT / July 9 Lecture 9:00 am CEST / July 9 4:00 pm JST
Lecture

Masami Maruyama

Bioethics and communication

Dr Masami Marumaya
Researcher of QFC-SP, University of Kyushu, Japan
President, Japan Society of Nursing History

Florence Denmark

Message on Celebrating the Conference

Dr. Florence Denmark
Pace University, USA

Michael Knowles

Make it Known: Who are Psychologists?

Dr. Michael Knowles
Australia

Harold Takooshian
Ann Marie O'Roark

Remembrance of Dr. Ann Marie O’Roark

Dr. Harold Takooshian
Fordham University, USA

Carlos Zalaquett

Psychotherapy, Social Justice, Climate Change, and Wellbeing

Dr. Carlos Zalaquett
Pennsylvania State University, USA

July 9 10:00 pm EDT / July 10 4:00 am CEST / July 10 11:00 am JST
Interest Group – Decolonizing Psychology

Polli Hagenaars
Elisón Santos
Lucy Mukuria
StephanieBeckman

Decolonizing Psychology / Decolonizing Society

Polli Hagenaars, Private Practice, Netherlands
Elisón Santos, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil
Stephanie Elizabeth Beckman, Chicago School of Professional Psychology, USA
Lucy Wairumu Mukuria, True North, Kenya

Polli Hagenaars
Shamsul Haque
Merry Bullock
Tony Wainwright
Marlena Plavšić
Elisón Santos

Global Network of Psychologists for Human Rights – An Introduction

Polli Hagenaars, Private Practice, Netherlands – Co-Chair
Merry Bullock, Ahimsa International, Estonia/USA – Co-Chair
Marlena Plavšić, Juraj Dobrila University of Pula, Croatia, SC
Shamsul Haque, Monash University, Malaysia, SC
Tony Wainwright, Exeter University, UK, SC
Elisón Santos, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil, SC

Swati Bajpai
Elaine Congress
Amina Muazzam

Health Psychology

Swati Bajpai, All India Institute, India
Elaine Congress, Fordham University, USA
Amina Muazzam, Lahore College for Women University, Pakistan

Naoki Asazuma
Ana Guil
Roswith Roth
Florence Denmark
Machiko Fukuhara
Machiko Fukuhara
Sandra Neil

Human Rights, Health and Wellness from a Cross-Cultural / Interdisciplinary Perspective

Naoki Asazuma, Kawakita General Hospital, Japan
Roswith Roth, Graz University, Austria
Machiko Fukuhara, Tokiwa University, Japan
Ana Guil, University of Sevilla, Spain
Florence Denmark, Pace University, USA
Sandra Neil, Satir Institute, Australia

Natalie Porter, USA

Contextual and Social Justice Factors in Wellness for Women and Girls

Dr. Natalie Porter
California School of Professional Psychology, Alliant International University, (Emerita), San Fransisco, USA

Hisao Osada
Tomoko Ikeuchi

Social Justice, Human Rights and Human Dignity from the Viewpoints of Japanese Culture

Dr. Hisao Osada, PhD
Professor of International Advanced Studies MA & PhD Program in Gerontology of J.F.Oberlin University, Tokyo
Dr. Tomoko Ikeuchi
Human Care Research Team, Tokyo Metropolitan Institute of Gerontology, Japan

Ana Guil, Spain

Flamenco as an Intercultural Mediator Between Japan and Spain

Dr.Ana Guil, PhD
University of Seville (ret.), Spain

Naoki Asazuma

Quality of life/wellness of people from the view of medical approach

Dr. Naoki Asazuma, MD
Kawakita General Hospital, Japan

Machiko Fukuhara
Machiko Fukuhara
Naoki Asazuma
Naoki Asazuma
Sandra Neil
Sandra Neil

Closing Remarks

Dr. Machiko Fukuhara, Dr. Sandra Neil, Dr. Naoki Asazuma